Using your phone's internet browser
go to:
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.

Role and responsibility of the association of southeast asian nations(asean) in fostering reginal cooperation

Tags: southeast asian, nations asean, fostering reginal
Asked by Rajesh Ram, 28 Oct '10 02:15 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (1)


ASEAN's effort in cooperation on environment led to establishment of institutional structure as well as various declarations and plans of action for environmental cooperation.
ASEAN was established in 1967 by ASEAN Declaration. As of end-2001, it consists of ten members : Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia. The primary purposes of ASEAN are to accelerate economic growth and to promote matters of common interest in economic fields. Although there was no mention about the cooperation in environment in the above declaration, increasing awareness in the world in the area of the environment culminating with Stockholm Declaration 1972 which called for regional cooperation in environment, led to the launch of ASEAN's Sub-regional Environment Programmes (ASEPs) since 1977.
Answered by saranathan Narasimhan, 28 Oct '10 02:17 pm

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining