Using your phone's internet browser
go to:
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.

Who are the Dasanamis, and why are they referred to as such?

Tags: dasanamis
Asked by Pardeep kapoor, 04 Aug '09 01:01 am
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (2)


Das meaning ten and Naam meaning name in Hindi.. Dasanami, literally Tradition of Ten Names.

Vaishnavi parampara main Tree-dandi aur Adwait parampa main EkdandiEkdandi ka vedant ke anushar uddeshy hota hai MOKSHA..

The Ekadandis or Dasanamis had established monasteries in India and Nepal in ancient unknown times After the decline of Buddhism, the Ekadandis were organized by Adi Shankara in the 8th century CE in India to be associated with four mutts to provide a base for the growth of hinduism. However, the association of the dasanamis with the Shankara mutts remained a nominal one.

Hindus who take up sanyasa in the Ekadandi tradition take up one of the ten names or DASNAMI associated with this sampradaya.
1. Saraswati
2. Tirtha
3. Aranya ...more
Answered by DR DINESH SHARMA, 04 Aug '09 02:22 am

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

One of the major achievements of Acharya Shankara was to organize the Hindu monasticism. He divided the Hindu monks into ten sects called "Dasnami" and organized them under four heads with the Headquarters at Dwaraka in the West, Jagannatha Puri in the East, Rameswaram in the South and Badrikashrama in the North. These became the four sacred "Dhams", "Holy Places" of the Hindus. He also enumerated other details of the order of Hindu monks grouped under these heads for their identity. Although there are today a number of Hindu monastic sects, the most authentic are the ten established by Acharya Shankara.Sanaka, Sanandana, Sanat-Kumara and Sanat-Sujata were the four mind-born sons of Lord Brahma. They refused to enter the Pravritti Marga or worldly life and entered the Nivritti Marga or the path of renunciation. The four Kumaras were the pioneers in the path of Sannyasa. Sri Dattatreya also is among the original Sannyasins. The Sannyasins of the present day are all descendants of the fo ...more
Answered by inquisitive, 04 Aug '09 02:12 am

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining