Using your phone's internet browser
go to:
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.

Why the Nuclear deal with US is called 123 Agreement

Asked by charu dureja, 03 Jul '08 10:22 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (1)


Section 123 of the United States Atomic Energy Act of 1954, titled "Cooperation With Other Nations", establishes an agreement for cooperation as a prerequisite for nuclear deals between the US and any other nation. Such an agreement is called a 123 Agreement. To date, the U.S. has entered into roughly twenty-five 123 Agreements with various countries.

Countries with which the U.S. has or had a 123 Agreement:

* Morocco
* Ukraine
* Romania
* Japan (with automatic re-processing rights)
* Euratom (with automatic re-processing rights)
* China (with re-processing rights, requiring approval per each request)
* Switzerland
* India (draft completed, requires signatures from U.S. and India - the agreement is witnessing opposition within India from parties of the Left Front)
* (other countries - to do)
Answered by LALITKUMAR RANA, 03 Jul '08 10:24 pm

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer


Well it depends if it is before or after the get nuclear arms.', If it's before then lets have this scenario- Iranian attack on Israel. India soon joi..more

Answered by Mickey