Using your phone's internet browser
go to:  qna.rediff.com
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.
Q.

What is Kosher food?

Tags: food, health, pregnancy & parenting
Asked by sudhakar kuruvada, 13 Mar '13 05:32 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
  
    
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (7)

 
1.

Kosher foods are those that conform to Jewish law. This means no mixing of dairy and meat, no pork or pork products and no shell fish.

Meat
The animal from which the meat is taken must have been slaughtered in accordance with prescribed Jewish ritual. Jews cannot eat meat from any animal which does not both chew its cud (food brought up into the mouth by an animal from its first stomach to be chewed again) and has a split hoof; animals such as rabbit or hare, pig, horse, dog or cat are therefore prohibited.

Fish
Jews may eat fish that have both fins and scales that are detachable from the skin.
Answered by LIPSIKA, 13 Mar '13 05:38 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
2.

Kosher foods are those that conform to Jewish law. This means no mixing of dairy and meat, no pork or pork products and no shell fish.
Answered by Quest, 14 Mar '13 01:21 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
3.

Kosher foods are those that conform to Jewish law. This means no mixing of dairy and meat, no pork or pork products and no shell fish.
Answered by vedprakash sharma, 14 Mar '13 02:46 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
4.

Kosher foods are those that conform to Jewish law. This means no mixing of dairy and meat, no pork or pork products and no shell fish.
Answered by anantharaman, 13 Mar '13 08:38 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
5.

Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of kashrut (Jewish dietary law). Food that may be consumed according to halakha (Jewish law) is termed kosher in English, from the Ashkenazi pronunciation of the Hebrew term kashr (), meaning "fit" (in this context, fit for consumption). Food that is not in accordance with Jewish law is called treif
Answered by iqbal seth, 13 Mar '13 08:23 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
6.

Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of kashrut (Jewish dietary law). Food that may be consumed according to halakha (Jewish law) is termed kosher in English, from the Ashkenazi pronunciation of the Hebrew term kashr (), meaning "fit" (in this context, fit for consumption). Food that is not in accordance with Jewish law is called treif
Answered by Ataur Rahman, 13 Mar '13 05:34 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
7.

Its did not taset diff from any gfood,,, will never know
Answered by conviction, 13 Mar '13 05:32 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer

Q.
A

I think it is same as the Food habit of Prophet Musa A.S ,ISA A.S and Hazrat Mohammad peace be on them all was same ,most jews muslims and even chrisi..more

Answered by truth exposed