Using your phone's internet browser
go to:  qna.rediff.com
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.
Q.

It has been reported in newspapers that two times strauss english captain was out caught behind the wicket first at score of 13 and at 98 the bowler was zaheer but was not given out as no indian player made any appeal,if it happens the result would have been different, your view please?

Tags: result, money, sports
Asked by Ramesh Agarwal, 01 Mar '11 08:54 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
  
    
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (3)

 
1.

THE BIG QUESTION IS HAD DHONI OR ZAHEER MADE ANY APPEAL ? NO . According to the Laws of Cricket, an umpire may not rule a batsman out unless the fielding side appeals. Hence the Umpires Marais Erasmus and Billy Bowden skipped it .

DEAR RAMESH , YES ,DEFINITELY THERE WAS KNOCK WHEN THE BALL PASSING THROUGH STRAUSS BAT. I HEARD AND SEEN THE REPLAYS , RAVISHASTRI, SANJAY MANJERAKAR AND NASSAR HUSSAIN WERE COMMENTED ABOUT IT . CHINNA SWAMI STADIUM IS BIG AND EXTRA NOISES WERE ALSO THERE . SO MS DHONI DID NOT HEAR ANY KNOCK, IF HE DID APPEAL FOR IT , NO DOUBT the result would have been different,
Answered by Musfer, 01 Mar '11 09:07 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
2.

Ya! right. Perhaps Indians played a hopeless cricket that night. Score like 338 could have easily been defended with the use of basics. Not only the issue of these two lapses, but many are analyzed now. Don't make any mess of that . Let us back our team.
Answered by RajPSingh, 01 Mar '11 11:25 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (1)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
3.

Yes in cricket the basic rule is that an umpire cannot declare anybody out unless and until somebody appeals from the fielding side
Answered by rajnikant raiyarela, 01 Mar '11 08:55 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (1)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer

Q.
A

Pakistan is still that belligerent 16- year-old school boy. You can't let such immature behavior get in the way of greater good. They any ways will k..more

Answered by sumati gayki