Using your phone's internet browser
go to:
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.

Which all states come under purvanchal

Tags: states
Asked by Sumit Jain, 21 Feb '08 11:14 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (1)


Purvanchal mainly comprises three divisions, namely the eastern Awadhi division in the west, the western Bhojpuri division in the east and the northern Bagelkhand division in the south. It is situated in eastern Uttar Pradesh and is located to the south of Nepal, to the west of Bihar, to the north of Bagelkhand (Madhya Pradesh), to the east of Awadh (Uttar Pradesh) and to the northeast of Doab (at Allahabad). The aspirant state of Purvanchal comprises the districts of Azamgarh, Ballia, Basti, Chandoli, Deoria, Ghazipur, Gorakhpur, Jaunpur, Kushinagar, Maharajganj, Mau, Mirzapur, Sant Kabir Nagar, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Siddharth Nagar, Sonbhadra and Varanasi. The following non-Purvanchal districts were included into the Purvanchal Economic Zone in the year 2000 by the then chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, Ms. Mayawati: Allahabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Bahraich, Balrampur, Faizabad, Fatehpur, Gonda, Kaushambi, Pratapgarh, Shravasti and Sultanpur.
Answered by Akshay Kalbag, 22 Feb '08 12:35 am

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer


Sati was an act of extreme courage during the past. If it happens in todays independant india it is a shameful incidence for we Indians. Our constitut..more

Answered by Vidyarthi