Using your phone's internet browser
go to:  qna.rediff.com
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.
Q.

Honey is veg or non-veg?

Tags: food, health, non veg
Asked by Monika Singh, 13 Dec '12 01:25 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
  
    
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (10)

1.

Honey is veg but since it gives heat in the body some people do not consume honey.
Answered by Francisco, 13 Dec '12 01:29 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
2.

Pure Veg!
Answered by peeping tom, 13 Dec '12 03:27 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
3.

Honey is not a stuff taken out of flowers and directly placed in beehive. There is process involved in making stuff taken from flowers into honey. This process is done by bees. Since the final product comes out of bees making, this may be a non-vegetarian item just like milk.
Answered by dinkar shetty, 13 Dec '12 03:14 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
4.

Veg
Answered by anil garg, 13 Dec '12 02:35 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
5.

Veg. It has extracted from vegetation (flower)
Answered by sankaran iyer, 13 Dec '12 02:20 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
6.

Debatable issue as it is produced by an animal
Answered by iqbal seth, 13 Dec '12 01:37 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
7.

Honey is taken from plants by honeybees ..Honey is non-vegan, but not non-vegetarian.We must cause the least harm to animals possible but refusing to eat dairy and honey is too extreme.Honey can certainly be vegetarian. But it is not vegan. Substitutes for honey could be: Agave syrup, maple syrup or golden syrup. Bee's do not collect honey from flowers. Bee's collect flower nectar and pollen from flowers with their mouths and take it back to their hive. They then give it to a worker bee inside the hive. The worker bee's then pass it on to each other by mouth until the moisture has been sucked out of it (down to roughly 20% moisture) which gives the pollen/nectar it's thick consistency.

So, in other words. Honey is the product of bee's. The ingredients for it are from flowers. But the reason Vegans oppose honey is because we must make the bees work for us in order to get the product.
Answered by Ataur Rahman, 13 Dec '12 01:28 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
8.

Vegetarian as it is collected from Plants
Answered by RachanaTereDilSe, 13 Dec '12 01:26 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
9.

Veg, es me kisi bhi tarah ke maas ka upyog nahi hota, tabhi to prasad ya fir charnamrit me use kiya jata hai
Answered by vedprakash sharma, 13 Dec '12 01:26 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
10.

Veg....itz formed from flower nectar.
Answered by harshal kalangutkar, 13 Dec '12 01:26 pm

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining