Using your phone's internet browser
go to:  qna.rediff.com
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.
Q.

Legendary cricketer W.G. Grace was once given out in the first ball. He put the stumps back and refused to leave the field. He told the umpire that, 'People have come to see my batting and not your umpiring".
Should our team done the same to Bucknor at Sydney everytime they were given out unfairly? Comments please.

Tags: people, field, team
Asked by joyoti sen, 17 Jan '08 09:51 am
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
  
    
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (8)

 
1.

those were the days cricket was played under a different rule ( i don't mean the laws of the game). it was then played by a different genre of people and who had the large heartedness to accept such a thing or where they would call the batsman back acknowledging that the catch he took was really not a catch. But since the late 70s, the game has been undergoing lot of changes in the environment in which it is played. it is gravitating more towards the football style and such nicetiies are not the norm any more. Also the governing bodies would have made light of an action as what Grace did but not the present body like ICC where CEOs rule the roost like they are heading a world money minting corporate and who rarely understand the game as such in its finer detail.

If such an act was revisited by the Indians in protest against the umpiring of Steve Bucknor, than in all probability, the players would have faced a 5 test ban and the spineless BCCI would have looked the other way saying ...more
Answered by Omega, 17 Jan '08 11:17 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
2.

With the new ICC rules, the cricketer will be barred for life time. Earlier rules were not that stringent. Even, I remember seeing a batsman replacing his bail back on wicket but Empire did not notice it.
Answered by MrinalKant Chatterjee, 17 Jan '08 10:18 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
3.

No that would have jeopardised the position of the Indian Cricket team. I learn that Indians sometimes are branded as indisciplined in some of the countries and this desired act of the Indian Cricket Team would have given the others an opportunity to prove their wrong contention of branding indians indisciplined. And with the strong background and standing of Indian Cricket and their laurels I donot think it is difficult now for the Indians to make the ICC change the rules in their favour after this unexpected behaviour of a single person.
Answered by s k mutreja, 17 Jan '08 11:18 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
4.

at the time of w g grace there was no icc rules... now if our players say that ..they might hv life time ban....
Answered by Mrinalendra Banerjee, 17 Jan '08 10:43 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
5.

I've read that article in the TOI last week. It would have been really funny to see our cricketers behave like Sir WG Grace .
Answered by Mitali Choudhury, 17 Jan '08 10:27 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
6.

As for our team well even if they would have wanted to stay putt the crowd would have said go back. Becoz I team is good for off the pitch antics and endorsements rather than cricket in iteself. Cricket in India is not a sport but just a mere business.
Answered by Saj Sierra, 17 Jan '08 10:23 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
7.

i dont think its right as being a gentlemens game he should have done this and if so most of them go to se sachin,ganguly brian lara,vivian richars,clive lloyd,and so on.So they should not be given out?
Answered by krish, 17 Jan '08 10:35 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
8.

Ha ha ha ha..
Dear in cricket, its the rule that once the umpire declare out no one can change it other then the umpire that is again within two minutes only.
Answered by Akshya Kumar, 17 Jan '08 10:24 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer

Q.
A

Yes..more

Answered by krishna vodela