Using your phone's internet browser
go to:  qna.rediff.com
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.
Q.

Egg.....Itis vegetarian ...non vegetarian..?

Asked by mohan, 18 Jul '09 04:37 am
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
  
    
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (5)

1.

Non vegetarian since when the original classification was made, egg was having a life in it. Now, the eggs can\' hatch and so modern vegetarians are accepting it along with mushrooms etc. which are fungi and are not vegetables. Egg is an animal product like milk, curd, cheese and honey. If you are a pure vegan, all these are no no.
Answered by Venkateswaraswamy Swarna, 18 Jul '09 04:40 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
2.

Non vegetarian
Answered by Manju Sikri, 18 Jul '09 08:36 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
3.

Vegetarian as its laid by vegetarian animals(birds)
Answered by Sumit Basu, 18 Jul '09 07:11 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
4.

It mainly depends on what classification of vegitarian you are:

Lacto Vegetarians, who do not eat meat or eggs but do consume dairy. Most vegetarians in India and classical Mediterranean lands fell into this classification.

Lacto-ovo Vegetarians, or Ovo-lacto vegetarians, who do not eat meat, but do consume dairy and eggs, this is the most common type of Vegetarianism in the Western world.

Ovo Vegetarians do not eat meat or dairy, but do consume eggs.

Pure Vegans avoid eating any kind of animal products and avoid wearing or using animal products or its bi-products.
...more
Answered by Joseph Chacko, 18 Jul '09 06:30 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received
5.

Eating things pulsating with life is non-vegetarianism. By that measure, even plants are pulsating with life and those who eat them I would call them non-vegetarians. Let us see by this criteria whether egg is vegetarian or non-vegetarian diet? There are eggs those can be hatched and eggs produced by the broilers don't hatch. It cannot bring forth another life. Therefore, egg like milk is vegetarian diet.
Answered by Jack Johnson, 18 Jul '09 05:43 am

 
  
Report abuse
Useful
 (0)
Not Useful
 (0)
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer

Q.
A

:-) hahaha...happens..more

Answered by madhavi