Using your phone's internet browser
go to:
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.

Astadiggajas, names of the elephants inmn eight directions ?

Tags: religion & spirituality, astadiggajas, elephants inmn
Asked by spandana k, 28 Jan '13 09:48 pm
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (1)


The title Ashtadiggajas (Ashta + dik + gaja) means elephants in eight directions. It refers to the old Hindu belief that eight elephants hold the earth in eight directions which are namely Airaavata, Pundareeka, Vaamana, Kumuda, Anjana, Pushpadanta, Sarwabhouma, Suprateeka, whose wives are Abhra, Kapila, Pingala, Anupama, Taamraparni, Subhradanti, Angana, Anjanaavati. The court of poets were also called Bhuvana Vijayam (Conquest of the World).
Answered by jameel ahmed, 28 Jan '13 09:54 pm

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer


I don't like such heineous acts ....... I am fully satisfied with the way I leading my life ...... I don't have any intention to cheat/fool people in ..more

Answered by pradeep mishra