Using your phone's internet browser
go to:
Click and drag this link to
the Home icon in your browser.

What are the details of NINE TATVAS Philosophy in JAINISM ??

Asked by AWASTHI, 24 Aug '09 01:23 am
  Invite a friend  |  
  Save  |  
 Earn 10 points for answering
Answer this question  Earn 10 points for answering    
4000 characters remaining  
Keep me signed inNew User? Sign up

Answers (1)


. (1) Jiva (soul): All living beings are called Jivas. Jivas have consciousness known as the soul, which is also called the atma (soul - chetan).

The soul and body are two different entities. The soul can not be reproduced.
It is described as a sort of energy which is indestructible, invisible, and shapeless. Jainism divides jivas into five categories ranging from one-sensed beings to five-sensed beings.
The body is merely a home for the soul. At the time of death, the soul leaves the body to occupy a new one.

Tirthankaras have said that the soul has an infinite capacity to know and perceive. This capacity of the soul is not experienced in its present state, because of accumulated karmas.

2. Ajiva (non living matter): Anything that is not a soul is called ajiva. Ajiva does not have consciousness. Jainism divides ajiva in five broad categories: dharmastikay (medium of motion), adharmastikay (medium of rest), akashastikay (space), pudgalastikay (matter), and ...more
Answered by DR DINESH SHARMA, 24 Aug '09 01:32 am

Report abuse
Not Useful
Your vote on this answer has already been received

Ask a Question

Get answers from the community

600 characters remaining

Related Answer


See official site of gandharva mahavidyalaya, new delhi for the details..more

Answered by deepak kalra